Culture Cafe Show 66 Melanie C Interview

This week allowed me to mark one thing off the bucket list, I had the honour of chatting to Melanie C, who I truly believe is an artist whose achievements have been overlooked. Never mind her time in the Spice Girls, Melanie has released six solo albums, four of those on her own ‘Red Girl Records’ label. Add that to her acting achievements in Blood Brothers and Jesus Christ Superstar and you’ve got one interesting lady to chat to.

We managed to get ten minutes to chat, so I asked about her label, working as an independent artist right up to how she chose the tracks for her new album ‘Stages’.

I also had the opportunity to play lots of new music, here’s what happened:

1. DJ FLip & Freezemaster Slick: Crossroads
2. Kimbra: Posse Strangers Remix
3. Avec Sans: Heartbreak Hi
4. Bird: I Am A Mountain
5. Liz Lawerence: Bedroom Hero
6. Cat Dowling: Cruel
7. O Emperor: Electric Tongues
8. Orphan Code: Friendly FIre
9. Runaway GO: Jump Start
10. Amanda Palmer and The Grand Theft Orchestra: The Killing Type
11. Melanie C: Goin’ Down
12. Melanie C: Aint Go No/I Got Life
13. Chat with Melanie C
14. Melanie C and Emma Bunton: I Know Him So Well
15. Melody’s Echo Chamber: I Follow You
16. Jake Bugg: Fire

Photo of Melanie C from her website.

Culture Cafe is broadcast every Wednesday at 1400 GMT and repeated every Sunday at 2100 GMT. Thanks for listening!