Tune of the Week // Liza Flume: Sheets (Elaine Mai Remix)

Elaine Mai - Sheets Remix

Elaine Mai
Elaine Mai
It’s a while since I have posted a ‘Tune of the Week’ but this track was more than enough to get me out of retirement.

Elaine Mai has taken Liza Flume’s track ‘Sheets’ and put her own stamp on it. Coupled with a video made by Bob Gallagher, who has previously made some vids for Girl Band, the story is told of a relationship on the rocks. The production is beautifully haunting and while filling your ears with a sonic wonderland of electronic beats and reassuring repetition.

Bob Gallagher is currently working with one Mr. James Vincent McMorrow, before he heads off for a stint under the mentorship of film director, Werner Herzog.

LizaFlume by anitakshoots
Liza Flume Photo: anitakshoots

Liza Flume was born in Australia and now is based in London. I got to know her work while she was living in Dublin and she was working with the Office Toast collective. Her time in Dublin saw her reputation, quite rightly, grow. This led to opening slots for the likes of John Grant in Vicar Street. If you follow Liza on Instragram, then you’ll see she has been in the studio recording. Can’t wait to hear the new stuff!

The instrumental track, ‘Enniscrone’, was Elaine Mai’s last release, coming to us in late 2016. Since 2011, Elaine has been working as a solo artist but many people will have got to know her as the voice on Le Galaxie’s ‘Love System’.

Her new EP, ‘The Colour of the Night’, will launch on May 5th with a shindig in The Workman’s in Dublin. Grab your tickets for ten euro from the venue website.

Photo of Liza by anitakshoots from here

The London Ear on RTÉ 2XM // Show 116 with Eoin Glackin



The London Ear on RTÉ 2XM // Show 116 with Eoin Glackin // April 30 2016

A couple of months ago, I went to see Wyvern Lingo in The Lexington in London. There was a guy there who I thought I recognised. It was Eoin Glackin. He was over in London recording tracks for what would become his ‘Club Classic’ EP. I caught up with him to find out more.

Here’s what happened:

1. The London Ear Intro:
2. Slow Riot: Trophy Wife
3. The Mighty Stef: Capri Sun
4. John Grant: Voodoo Doll
5. Karrie: Tryin to be Honest
6. Dermot Barrett: Decisions Decisions
7. Bill Baird: World Gone Deaf
8. aboveDat: Addicted
9. Catfish and The Bottlemen: 7
10. Band of Horses: Casual Party
11. Chat with Eoin Glackin Part 1
12. Eoin Glackin: Understand You
13. Chat with Eoin Glackin Part 2 Eoin_Glackin_Club_Classic
14. Eoin Glackin: Club Classic
15. Prince: Diamonds and Pearls

Thanks for listening, The London Ear broadcast on DAB radio, Saorview and outside Ireland you can listen online.You can listen to the show again on the RTE player. The show is broadcast every Saturday at 1300.

Don’t forget to check out the RTE 2XM website. You can keep up with me here.

Check out The London Ear on Facebook and Twitter

Find out more about Eoin Glackin on his website.

John Grant: Live at Vicar St, Dublin – Review


JohnGrant_bannerThis originally appeared on Goldenplec.com – John Grant at Vicar St. – May 3rd 2013

The scene was set. Friday night, the first night of the Bank Holiday weekend, John Grant in Vicar St seemed like it could be the perfect start especially given the reviews his current album ‘Pale Green Ghosts’ has received.

Liza Flume opens the night’s entertainment. Over the past while, Flume has received much praise and it’s easy to see why. The first song of her set ‘In Time’, has the Dublin based Aussie singer live looping guitar and vocals, adding to each layer as the song progresses. She cleverly harmonizes with her own sampled vocals before all samples are removed leaving Flume singing a cappella before the reaching the crescendo with the full force of her acoustic guitar.

Flume’s voice has an endearing quality, pure but with a little bit of grit which make her lyrics and songs believable and honest. The audience are treated to tracks from Flume’s current EP ‘Full Steam Ahead’ but also get a cover of Robyn’s ‘With Every Heartbeat’, which is given the trademark Flume treatment of sampled layers to produce something special. The set is ends with ‘What We Call Love’, a catchy memorable song brought along by a finger click rhythm. Flume shows great potential as a performer and a songwriter and true talent in arranging her own material. Put her on your ‘must check out’ list.

The opening bars of ‘You Don’t Have To’ fill the auditorium as John Grant comes to the stage, however when he goes to sing into the microphone, there’s no sound, after an impressive non panicked adjustment of cables by one of the band, all is right with the world. The bass synth sound on the track and sampled rhythms dominate many of the track Grant plays from his current album ‘Pale Green Ghosts’.

As he finishes his first track he comments on how ‘lovely it is to be here’ but also how frustrating it is that he doesn’t get to see much of the city. Grant currently lives in Iceland and four of his five band members hail from the island, the fifth, his keyboard player, Chris comes from Coventry.

The downbeat ‘Vietnam’ follows. The bearded Grant is dressed casually, jeans and a polo shirt and trainers with illuminious soles and laces, which glow under the stage lights. Throughout the show he dances and moves from microphone to the keyboards on the left of the stage to play during the instrumental breaks. Layers of electronic sounds and samples are laid on top of a traditional band set up of guitar, bass, keys and drums.

Grant is a likeable character, he jokes that he’s going to an Alice Cooper cover and how he loves the aforementioned bass synth sound so much he would ‘put it on his cornflakes in the morning’. He also acknowledges his HIV status during the set and his inbetween song words alongside his soul baring lyrics easily bridge the gap between stage and audience, who obviously have been listening to ‘Pale Green Ghosts’, the title track gets a cheer from the opening notes as does hte highly danceable ‘Sensitive New Age Guy.’

Sinead O’Connor appears on four tracks from Pale Green Ghosts so it’s not too much of a surprise when she appears onstage, the crowd still go into overdrive. O’Connor sing barefoot and wears a ‘GMF’ tshirt from Grant’s merch stand. ‘It Doesn’t Matter to Him’ follows ‘Why Don’t You Love Me’ and O’Connor’s backing vocals are immaculate, reminding us that she is one of our isle’s gems.

Grant and O’Connor seem very comfortable on stage together and she seemed to get a kick out of singing the ‘I am the greatest MotherF…’ O’Connor leaves the stage during ‘I hate this town’ only to be seen dancing at the side of the stage. Grant is quick to point out that the song is ‘not about this town’ and how his own song reminds him of Abba’s Chiquitita and a dance move he once saw Frida do on TV. Grant is dancing onstage and doing this weird ‘Frida clap’, the audience back him up well.
But it’s the piano led ‘Glacier’ that gets the crowd to their feet.

Grant gives a tender vocal performance, while Ms O’Connor goes from backing singer to taking charge on a verse. As the track builds towards, the petit O’Connor steps on Grants feet and the pair dance around the stage in a bear hug. The only way they can finish this set is with ‘Queen of Denmark’, two fantastic vocal performances, together one one stage, making a great song even better. An trio of songs provide the audience with an encore, ‘Where Dreams Go To Die’, ‘TC & Honeybear’ and ‘Caramel’ bring the evening to a close.

As Grant leaves the stage, the rapturous applause continues until the house lights brighten the venue. An amazing night’s music and quite an extraordinary connection with the audience. One to remember.