Free Download: ethan’s bucket – Crown Me a King


ethansbucketethan’s bucket is a Ethan Kumar, a Dublin based physics student who has been making music for a couple of years now, although it’s only now that he is stepping out the realm of bedroom musician. And I’m quite glad he has done too. Offering his latest track, ‘Crown Me a King’ as a free download, Ethan has given us an electronic dream pop delight with overdriven guitars and synth sounds to die for.

Ethan seems to be quite a prolific artist, releasing an album ‘Forest Lights’ in 2012 (also available as a Free Download) and he’s currently working towards the release of a new album ‘Walking on Water’.

You can download ‘Crown Me a King’ from Bandcamp or from the widget below.

Make sure you check out the video for Crown Me a King, a throne, a crown, a beach and some fire, what more could you want?

Tune of the Week 31/12/2013: Munk – The Beat


MunkAs 2014 approaches there’s only way to enjoy the infamous countdown, dance into New Year and I’ve found a fantastic track to add to your New Year playlist.

Mathias Modica better known as Munk releases music through German label ‘Gomma Records’. For his new single,’The Beat’, he’e enlisted the help of Londoner, Mona Lazette, and the results are seriously danceable.

The Beat is the first single from his new album due out in Spring 2014. Alongside Mona Lazette, Munk’s new album will also feature New Yorker, Lizzy Paige. Both singers are now living in Berlin and seem to have become a stable part of the Munk family. Munk has also previously had James Murphy do his magic on a 2006’s Kick out the Chairs.

Listen to The Beat a couple of times and you’ll be singing the hook all day. Now, get your dancing shoes on.

You can listen to some excerpts of the different mixes on Soundcloud or in the widget below.

The London Ear on RTE 2XM Show 14: 25/12/2013


TheLondonEarChristmasIt’s Christmas!!!!! Hope you’re all having a fantastic day and Santa was good to you. Seeing as it’s Christmas, I decided that The London Ear should be a festive one, filled to the brim with Christmas choons!

Here’s the playlist:

1. The London Ear Intro
2. Emmy The Great & Tim Wheeler: Home for the Holidays
3. Autamata: Liberty Bell
4. The Shoos: Christmas Time
5. Ronan Burke: We All Gather Round
6. Terry Emm: Gently
7. Strangers: This Year
8. Meiko: Wonderful Christmastime
9. Mark Geary & Glen Hansard: Christmas Biscuits
10. Paul Hourican: Hard Times in Dublin Again
11. Dog is Dead: Christmas Wrapping
12. Slow Club: Christmas TV
13. Jonathan Darby: Winter Soul
14. Huey And The New Yorkers: Christmas By The Side of the Road
15. U2: Baby Please Come Home
16. The Darkness: Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End)
17. Croupier: Bells of the morning.

Next week on the show, I will be speaking to Tom from MTNS and to Rosenthal, I’ll be playing music from some of the acts I think you should keep an eye out for in 2014.

Thanks for listening and letting me be a part of your Christmas Day. You can listen live every Wednesday at 1400 and the repeat on Sunday nights at 2100. You can listen to the show again on the RTE player.

Don’t forget if you’re Irish and in a band based in the UK or touring in the UK, get in touch I’d love to hear from you. I love hearing new music so if you have something you think I’d be into send me a mail nessy @ (Take out the gaps)

Thanks for listening, have a great Christmas!

Tune of the Week 24/12/2013: Fia Rua – That Christmas Feeling


You got to love this. The gravelly voice of Fia Rua and his banjo alongside the opening verse of this makes you think this is going to be a ‘Bah Humbug’ kinda Christmas song but somewhere along the way those elves sprinkled their dust over Fia Rua. It’s a terror what a bit of snow can do to make it all Christmassy. Christmas described extremely accurately in a folk punk stylee.

Mobile device users can hear the track here if you can’t see the embed below.

Free Download: Foy Vance – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas


FoyVanceSeeing as it’s Christmas Eve, I thought that I’d share this with you. The very talented Foy Vance has unveiled his version of ‘Have Yourself a Merry little Christmas’. The song really is a classic, first appearing in the film ‘Meet me in St Louis’ in 1944.

2013 was a great year for Foy Vance, with his album ‘Joy of Nothing’ being included in iTunes Best of 2013. 2014 is due to get off to a great start as he opens for Edward Sharpe and the Magnetics on their European Tour.

For readers on mobile devices, you can download the track here, or from the widget below. Enjoy!

Photo from here

Free Download: Idiot Songs (Album)


IdiotSongsThose delightful guys from Urchin Collective are really spoiling us this Christmas. Idiot Songs is a collaboration between Pearse McGloughlin and Justin Grounds and they are giving their awesome album as a Free / Pay What You Want download until December 26th. So get your skates on, it’s truly a great album.

The pair are kicking off 2014 with a gig in Workman’s Club in Dublin as part of the First Fortnight Festival, then they’re coming to the UK in February, stopping off at the Windmill in Brixton on February 19th. Hopefully, I’ll be able to chat to the guys for The London Ear.

Download the album now!